Bavarian Centre for Political Theory

About the Centre

The Chair of Political Philosophy, Political Theory and History of Political Thought is part of the Bavarian Centre for Political Theory (Bayerisches Zentrum für Politische Theorie). The centre is part of a joint higher education institution of the universities of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Erlangen-Nuremberg, Passau and Regensburg and consists of the respective chairs and professorships of political philosophy, political theory and history of political ideas. It has an office at Friedrich-Alexander-University in Erlangen. Members of the board are the professors of the participating universities: Prof. Dr. Dr. Manfred Brocker (Eichstätt), Prof. Dr. Karlfriedrich Herb (Regensburg), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Eva Odzuck and Prof. Dr. Barbara Zehnpfennig (Passau). Clemens Kauffmann has been the speaker of the board from 2008 to 2011.

Among the responsibilities of the center are inter alia the conduct of joint research and teaching, their advancement by the integration of complementary competencies in the field of political theory in the Bavarian higher education area, as well as the promotion of doctoral students.

The premises of the centre in Erlangen are located in the branch of the Institute for Political Science at Glückstraße 5, 91054 Erlangen. The local facilities of the chair’s Division Intellectual History are integrated into the centre.

Bavarian Research Training Group in Political Theory

The Bavarian Research Training Group in Political Theory (Bayerisches Promotionskolleg Politische Theorie) is affiliated to the centre. It was founded in 2006 and since then, it brings doctoral students of the participating chairs and professorships together for the purpose of joint research and work under the scientific supervision of the professors supervising the projects. Currently, doctoral students from Eichstätt, Erlangen, Passau and Regensburg participate in the Research Training Group. The Research Training Group hosts conferences twice a year and organizes workshops to deepening of common question additionally. Since 10/2020, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Eva Odzuck is part of the team of advising professors.